Deciding to document the journey

Well, this is my first post of what I’m sure is going to be a long journey to joining the U.S. Army Officer Candidate School. I have read several blogs, forums, and general question and answers regarding the process from start to finish, but I find that they are sometimes incomplete, out-dated, or simply don’t apply to me. I’ve googled every key word that has to do with the Army and joining the Army for the purposes of attending OCS. I’ve read the information provided on about.com, armyOCS.com, goarmy.com, armyocs.info, and military.com just to name a few. If you are looking for answers to what you can expect there are many resources out there, and I suggest reading from a variety of different sources so that you can get as full view as possible about what you may be getting into.

I know that my searching for answers is far from over, and so I wanted to contribute something to this wonderful community of people who are willing to tell every detail about joining the Army. I know that I will have many more moments of “huh?” along the way and in an effort to lessen those moments for future candidates, I’ve decided to share my experience with you, the internet. You are my best friend, internet. You always have the answers and you are a wealth of information. In fact, I got my recruiter’s phone number and address from your brain, internet. What I’m getting at is I don’t know who will read this and I’m just putting it out there, on the internet, for future OCS bound civilians to stumble upon just as I stumbled upon my inspiration for this project. If you would like to look, a very comprehensive and complete blog (the blog in my opinion) which inspired my blog is: http://armyfs.blogspot.com/2006/07/my-experience-joining-us-army.html

I hope it is okay that I put the shortcut on my page but if you are looking for the original poster they may still be on armyocs.com under the username “flec.” As of February 6, 2011 the armyocs.com site has this listed under the “College Option” forum, as a “sticky” at the top of the page entitled “OCS application for college ops (link to blog).” However, keep in mind this was posted in 2006 and I’m unable to ensure that it stays live.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brooke on February 8, 2011 at 6:18 am

    I just want to wish you the best in your OCS journey! Mine starts this August after 10 weeks of fun at BCT. I’m a college op, too, so this is a whole new world for me (complete with it’s own language!). I agree with you about the Internet being so comepletely awesome for researching OCS topics. I’ve found facebook (search for/Google “Crusher Company”–the entire 12 weeks are photo-documented!!!) and youtube to be the best places for image/video references. Keep up the blogging–I know I’ve read some from a couple years ago, so you know yours will be invaluable to future OCs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

