Why I Want to Be an Army Officer

In an officer candidate’s application checklist there may be an item listed requiring an essay to be written on the topic of “Why I Want to Be an Army Officer.” This item varies by state and by recruiting station from what I’ve been able to find out. Some applicants must type a page on this subject and also include an exact handwritten copy in their application paperwork. Other applicants must type the one page essay, include it in their application packet and then handwrite a similar essay on the day and at the place of their board interview (for example, I read about an applicant who had to write their essay from memory an hour or so before they went in to their boards).

I do not know what the future holds for me regarding how my essays will  be handled. I can only hope that I write a great composition therefore I am going to seek out all the help I can get on this. I’ve taken numerous writing classes and writing has always been one of my stronger academic areas, however, I’m not going to wing it when it comes to my impression on the people who will be determining my future in the military. Without giving away my literary jewel that I call my essay, I would like to share my reasoning for why I want to be an Army officer.

Firstly, I have a deep sense of volunteerism ingrained in my character. I have volunteered throughout my entire life and I feel being in the military is the ultimate form of volunteerism. But, when a person reaches a certain point in their lives, volunteering 5 or 10 hours here and there doesn’t cut it anymore. I am wanting to make a greater contribution to my country, therefore being an Army officer is my ideal career. Working in the  private sector would eventually consume all of my time and energy and I probably wouldn’t make as big of contribution to my community through volunteering. This is not the future I want for myself because I know I am able to make a difference and contribute to a larger goal.

Next, I love America. I didn’t used to be so patriotic but I have realized that I have been born into and had the privilege of living in one of the greatest countries in the world. Majoring in International Studies has shown me how defunct the world can be, and of course the U.S. is not without its flaws, however, comparatively speaking America is a well oiled machine (ha ha ha… there’s a little pun in there). We have healthcare, schools, relative wealth, functional business, industry, a bounty of fresh water and readily available food. This is a great country and from a cultural standpoint I am thoroughly American. I am independent. I am competitive. I believe people have the right to a peaceful assembly. I believe people have the right to follow any faith they choose. I like my culture. I like going to a restaurant and getting my food quickly, having the check automatically arrive, and being able to swipe my debit card to pay. I believe I’d make an excellent officer because I love America and I am a true American.

Lastly, it is actually a pretty cool gig. Think about it; you get a four-year degree and if you have federal student loans, the Army will help you to pay off that debt. In the Student Loan Repayment Program, all of my federal loans should be taken care of. Then, they give you all of the training you need on top of already having a degree. They teach you how to be a leader although a lot of your personal characteristics are sure to help you in leadership roles. They require you to be fit and pay you to maintain good health. You wouldn’t get those incentives in the private sector. They teach you how to shoot and gun and use weapons–including using your own body as a weapon–which is training you wouldn’t get in a private sector job. In fact, liking guns and weapons may scare your private sector co-workers whereas in the military you are just a normal person. The Army will pay for housing and healthcare, on top of training you how to do a job that can be quite lucrative if you ever decide to leave the Army. You can live in numerous stateside and worldwide locations if you are in the Army, whereas if you were in the private sector you’d be chained to one city until you decide to quit your job to move somewhere new. 

Obviously, I’m not blind to why the Army gives all of these seemingly good deals out to Army personnel. I know it’s because they want their Army to be the best and most prepared Army possible. They want to ensure Army personnel  is working in peak condition because we may be called on to fight for our country. And ultimately, that is what being an Army officer is about; leading in the defense of our country, organizing the flow of people and materials, and making hard decisions that others are unwilling or unable to make.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

